Not a member yet?

Sign Up!

Posted on Jun 03, 2019

Graeme Tole was a wonderful asset to the Rural Youth Organisation of Tasmania, he joined Westmorland Rural Youth in 1962 at 16 years of age.  He held the Presidency role of the club in 1965.

In 1966, he was declared President of Northern Region.  He became involved in Rural Youth Council from 1968 and continued his involvement, ending up as State President of Rural Youth in 1971/72. This saw the start of his connection with Advisory level.

In 1977, Graeme was presented a Life Membership of the Rural Youth Organisation of Tasmania. He held positions on the Property Management Committee from 1988 until 2004.

Unfortunately, in 2004, he was involved in a farming incident and passed away.  Whilst grieving his passing, the idea formed for a Graeme Tole Memorial Award Presidents Prize, in honour of this great leader, mentor and enthusiast of Rural Youth.

In 2009, this Memorial Award Prize was established, and the first recipient, Anthony Coad was announced.

This prize naturally is of high standard, given the quality gentleman that it is honouring.

To be considered for this prize, nominees have to meet the following criteria;

- Been a member of the Organisation for at least 2 years.

- A current financial Rural Youth member

- Made continuous and notable contributions, leading to positive outcomes for the Organisation.

 This will have included having taken on roles in at least one of the following**:

- Rural Youth Board

- Agfest Committee Leadership Team

- Club Executive

** Or the equivalent under the previous structure.


Do you know of a member who meets the criteria above? If so, then they are eligible to be nominated for this prestigious award.

Please approach the member you wish to nominate prior to submitting their nomination, as part of the Award prize involves travelling to New Zealand in 2020!

Applications Close 31st July 2019

Click Here for the Application Form